Monday, October 24, 2016 - Loading…

Published: Thursday, 3/21/2013

30 student athletes, others compete for Chuck Ealey scholarships

Former UT and former Canadian Football League star Chuck Ealey spoke in January about his 'Undefeated Spirit'  program to Youth Leadership Toledo. Former UT and former Canadian Football League star Chuck Ealey spoke in January about his 'Undefeated Spirit' program to Youth Leadership Toledo.
THE BLADE Enlarge | Buy This Photo

Three Perrysburg High School athletes and one from Southview in Sylvania are among the 30 finalists each competing for a $1,000 college scholarship, according to the sponsors of the Chuck Ealey Undefeated Spirit Contest.

Among finalists are Perrysburg High football players Mark Delas and Steve Slocum, and Perrysburg girls basketball player Maddy Perry, as well as Southview girls basketball player Bailey Heji.

The contest, named after former University of Toledo and CFL football star Chuck Ealey, selects finalists who has “an undefeated spirit-inspired drive and leadership with their teammates, campus and community,” strong family values, and strong education and community involvement. The contestants had to write a 500-word essay. Leadership Toledo partners with Mr. Ealey in the contest.

The finalists included 10 football players, 10 girls basketball players, and 10 essay contest entrants.

Here are the other finalists:

Boys’ Football

Liam Allen—St. John’s Jesuit HS (TRAC)

Vinny Broadway—St. John’s Jesuit HS (TRAC)

Michael Cornell—Bowsher HS (City League)

Johnny Douanglee—Waite HS (City League)

Will Longthorne—Ottawa Hills HS (TAAC)

John Segura—Northwood HS (TAAC)

Michael Wagner—St. Francis de Sales HS (TRAC)

DeShawn Woodward—Start HS (City League)

Girls’ Basketball

Samantha Charcol—Clay HS (TRAC)

McKenzie Harder—Toledo Christian HS (TAAC)

Sydni Harmon—Central Catholic HS (TRAC)

Kre’Ana Henry—Waite HS (City League)

Abby Mass—Cardinal Stritch HS (TAAC)

Joeal Olman—Maumee HS – (NLL)

Megan Roach—Northwood HS (TRAC)

Essay Contest

Adriana Cannon—Lake HS

Ryan Clay—Rossford HS

Cory Copeland—Springfield HS

Eileen Iannone—Central Catholic HS

Olivia Latz—Cardinal Stritch HS

Gregory Schrock—Whitmer HS

Ricca Turner—Woodward HS

Alexa Wegman—Northwood HS

Samantha Willey—Springfield HS

Emily Witte—Anthony Wayne HS

The winners of the scholarships will be announced during an April 16 ceremony at UT’s Driscoll Alumni Center.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories