Thursday, October 20, 2016 - Loading…

Published: Friday, 5/24/2013

Spring pinning ceremony honors Owens registered nursing students


More than 80 Owens Community College students were recently given honorary pins by the nursing department for their academic achievements.

The pinning ceremony is part of a traditional nursing practice, which honors students prior to beginning their careers within the health care community.

Pinning recipients are Felicia Alexander of Toledo, Katie Alford of Tiffin, Shaya Askins of Bowling Green, Melissa Atkins of Toledo, Ciara Beegle of Belmore, Colleen Belt of Waterville, Judith Berger of Findlay, Jacquelyn Boggs of Newport, Mich., Sue Bohls of Toledo, Mallory Brown of Woodville, Heather Campbell of Toledo, Kristen Campbell of Bluffton, Belinda Castillo of Defiance, Chelsea Clark of Holland, Shena Cramner of Vanlue, Lori Crouse of Sylvania, Kristen Current of Perrysburg, Charity De La Cruz of Fostoria, Shauna Doolittle of Findlay, Jessica Eberly of Bowling Green, Amanda Elvey of Toledo, Caroline Endersbe of Toledo, Leona Forde of Toledo, Isha Giesey of Findlay, Linda Green of Fostoria, Kevin Hendricks of Delta, Justin Hines of Toledo, Susann Hocanson of Jenera, Benjamin Irvine of Maumee, Chelsea King of Toledo, Colleen Kozlowski of Toledo, Tanya Kramer of Perrysburg, Jeanie Krueger of Toledo, Kelly Lambert of Findlay, Rebecca Lane of Farmington Hills, Mich., Marisa Lehman of Findlay, Danielle Leonard of Findlay, Amy Long of Findlay, Matthew Lortz of Carey, Myiisha Lott of Toledo, and Crystal Mathias of Bloomville.

Other recipients were Kathryn McCray of Toledo, Kristen Metroff of Toledo, Amy Miller of Adrian, Mich., April Miller of Findlay, Teri Minkowski of Toledo, Magdalena Morse of Toledo, Nargis Morsfield of Findlay, Alisha Mossburg of Monroe, Mich., Myriah Mundy of Kenton, Randi Murdock of Liberty Center, Andrew Novotny of Perrysburg, Ellissa O’Leary of Perrysburg, Laura Ostrander of Toledo, Lacie Pace of Fostoria, Karen Penrod of Walbridge, O’Della Quinn of Toledo, Emily Rehklau of Toledo, Ross Reid of Toledo, Taylor Rhoades of Nevada, Cheryl Rice of Whitehouse, Wylliam Risner of Columbus Grove, Judith Ruhlen of Tiffin, Andrew Ruman of Temperance, Mich., Leslie Sauerwein of Oregon, Jamie Schmidt of Upper Sandusky, Kathryn Serna of Swanton, Tonya Shank of Perrysburg, Joanna Shaw of Whitehouse, Katie Shrewsbury of Perrysburg, Amanda Snyder of Oregon, Kim Spitnale of Toledo, Ashley Stephens of Toledo, Jill Stephens of McClure, Brandy Sterling of Findlay, April Stokosa of Rockwood, Mich., Michael Swick of Toledo, Lanita Vance of Toledo, Nicole Vidak of Swanton, Lori Wagner of Continental, Patrick Walsh of Sylvania, Rachel Washer of Maumee, Jessica Wenzlick of Sylvania, Michael Wheeler of Holland and Kelly Yesnach of Monroe, Mich.

The ceremony originated in the 1860s at St. Thomas Hospital’s Nightingale School of Nursing in London, England.

Having been awarded the Red Cross of St. George for her service to the injured and dying in the Crimean War, Florence Nightingale chose to extend the honor she received to her most outstanding graduate nurses by awarding each of them a medal of excellence.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories