Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - Loading…

Published: Saturday, 4/27/2013

Owens ceremony honors 10 for service

Firefighter and EMTs among award winners


Owens Community College’s Alumni Association recognized 10 area residents Friday morning, during the 10th annual Outstanding Service Awards.

A.J. Green of Gibsonburg was awarded the Outstanding Firefighter Award, for helping save the lives of bus passengers during a multiple vehicle accident.

Joseph Camerato of Port Clinton; Jared Davis of Sylvania; Christopher Mrkva of Lambertville; Claudia Rodriguez of Millbury, and Rachel Doran, Jason Hart, and Robert Thomas, all of Toledo, were awarded the Outstanding Emergency Medical Technician Award.

They were nominated by the Toledo Fire and Rescue Department for their efforts in saving the life of a man who was run over by a car and wedged underneath the vehicle.

Keith Loreno of Gibsonburg was awarded the Outstanding Service to the Community Award.

He was nominated by Fostoria Safety Service Director Allyson Murray, for his dedication and leadership to the community.

John Farley of Berkey was named the Community Spirit Award recipient. Nominated by the Richfield Township Fire Department, he was recognized for his community spirit, through his work with Richfield Township.

Also at the event, Taylor Beck of Genoa, an Owens Community College student, was awarded the Detective Keith Dressel Memorial Scholarship. The award is for $1,253 for the upcoming 2013-2014 school year.

The scholarship commemorates Toledo Police Detective Keith Dressel, who was shot and killed in 2007 in the line of duty.

The award is given to a student who reflects the same passion that Detective Dressel had for his career.

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories